Down Comes the Night | Book Review

Down Comes the Night

Allison Saft

3.5 / 5


I wanted to love this one; it had so many of my favorite elements: set in Victorian England, a magical realm with dark forces, and an eerie gothic feel. But I couldn’t seem to connect with this story; in fact, half of the time I was a bit confused. 

Wren is a healer who has been dismissed from the Queen’s guard, and Lord Lowry summons her to his estate to heal a servant. It turns out the servant is none other than Hal Cavendish, the notorious Reaper of Vesria – Wren’s sworn enemy. 

Although Cavendish is looking for redemption and healing, when Wren discovers the source of his illness, she realizes they both are in grave danger. They will have to join forces if they are to survive this kind of monster. 

So lots of cool things are going on, but I just didn’t understand many of the decisions Wren makes. There is a blossoming romance, but it’s slow, and again, Wren oscillates back and forth. I just felt disconnected for much of the time.

Diehard fantasy lovers may enjoy this one, so I still suggest trying it out for yourselves.

4 thoughts on “Down Comes the Night | Book Review

Leave a comment